Lists of Arkansas medical professionals publicly for and against medical marijuana

The Arkansas Democrat-Gazette obtained the following list and statement released Thursday, Nov. 1, 2012, by Arkansans for Compassionate Care. According to Arkansans for Compassionate Care, these 79 medical professionals signed statements of support for Issue 5 containing the following language:

Arkansas Doctors Who Support Issue #5, the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act

Licensed medical practitioners should not be punished for recommending the medical use of marijuana to seriously ill people, and seriously ill people should not be subject to criminal sanctions for using marijuana if the patients' medical professionals have told them that such use is likely to be beneficial.

Gordon Akin, Internal I Paragould

Michael Anreder, Pathology I El Dorado

Susan Balke I Mariana

Norma Basinger, GYN/Phlebology I Fort Smith

Stuart Benson, Internal I Bentonville

Douglas Bernard, Family Med I Batesville

Lawrence Bigongiari, Diognostic Radiology I Hope

Jesse Bradley, Podiatry I West Memphis

Ronald Brimberry, Family Med I Springdale

John Butler Chiropractic I Magnolia

Debra Callahan, Chiropractic I Jonesboro

William Carbary, Chiropractic I Little Rock

Ian Cawich, Cardiology I Little Rock

Ira Chatman, Pain Management I Mountain Home

Charley Chu, Optometry I West Helena

Joe Colclasure, I Little Rock

Chet Crawford, Family Med I Fayetteville

David Crittenden, Nephrology I Fayetteville

James Croom, Internal I Mountain Home

Deborah Dawes, Psychology I Berryville

Craig Dinger, Family Practice I Eureka Springs

Van Dunn, Optometry I Dumas

William Frederick, Opthalmology I Helena

Deanna Garretson, Chiropractic I Mountain Home

Phillip Garretson, Chiropractic I Mountain Home

John Giblin, pediatrics/research | Little Rock

William Goodin, Psychiatry I Batesville

Jerry Grant, Family Med I ElDorado

Janice Gunnels, Internal I Hot Springs

Latrisha Hall, Family Med I Pine Bluff

Phillip Hardin, Dermatology I Mountain Home

Abeer Hashmi, Family Med I Maumelle

Salman Hashmi, Family Med I Maumelle

Hugh Higginbotham, Internal I Fayetteville

Stephanie Ho, Family Practice I Ft. Smith

Roland Hollis, Family Med I Paragould

Robert Hurst, Optometry I Bentonville

James Jaros, Optometry I North Little Rock

Anna Kahn, D.C. I Harrison

Shaun Kahn, D.C. I Harrison

Qaisar Kahn, Cardiology I Batesville

Manuel Kelley, Family Med I Pine Bluff

Andrew Koehler, Pediatrics I Fayetteville

Pattie Kymer, Anesthesiology I Little Rock

Mark Lazenby, Chiropractic I Blytheville

John Lee, ENT I Rogers

Mathew Margolis, Opthalmology I Jonesboro

Stephen Marks, OB-GYN I North Little Rock

Adriane Martin, General Surgery I Hot Springs

James Martin, Family Med I Omaha

Hosea McAdoo, Radiology I Sherwood

Theresa McCallie, General Surgery I Magnolia

Samuel Merideth, Ortho Surgeon I West Memphis

Liv Miller, Neuropsychology I North Little Rock

Joseph Mizelle, Psychiatry I Hot Springs Village

Shirolyn Moffett, Women's Health I Harrison

Earl Montgomery, Gynocology I Jonesboro

Donald Patrick, Thorasic & Vascular surgeon I Searcy

Marvin Poole, OB-GYN I Mount Ida

Maria Porter, Pathology I Little Rock

Venkata Prayaga, Cardiology I Russellville

Brian Reilly, Chiropractic I Hot Springs

Cara Riley, Internal I Bentonville

Sarah Rowden, Chiropractic I Rogers

Barbara Sandefur, Radiology I Little Rock

Franklin Selman, Eye Care I Magnolia

Mary Shaver, Nephrology I Conway

Marvin Singleton, ENT I Fayetteville

Jason Smith, ENT I North Little Rock

Janet Stannard, Psychiatry I Conway

Scott Stern Oncology, I Little Rock

Stacy Tait, Anesthesiology I Fort Smith

Sue Ulmer, Internal I Little Rock
Srini Vasan, Oncology I El Dorado
Mary Wagner, Psychiatry I Paragould
Carlotta Wells, Podiatry I Magnolia
Travis Wyly, Chiropractic I England
Thomas York, Chiropractic I Morrilton
Thomas Youngblood, Pediatrics I Bentonville

Source: Arkansans for Compassionate Care

Additionally, at the Democrat-Gazette's request, Family Council Action Committee Communications Director Josh Mesker provided on Thursday, Nov. 1, 2012, the following tentative list of the Physician Coalition Against Medical Marijuana. The individuals on this list appeared at a press conference on Oct. 24 to express opposition to Issue 5. "There are certainly others, but (the Family Council Action Committee) cannot confirm names at this time," Mesker said in an email.

David Smith, Palliative Care Physician, Little Rock
William Benton, Neonatologist, Little Rock
Jim Bledsoe, General Surgeon, Rogers
Eugene Smith, Cardiologist, Little Rock
David Gillam, Orthopedic Surgeon, Little Rock
Bob Overacre, Anesthesiologist, Little Rock
Wendell Pahls, Emergency Physician, Little Rock
John Stuckey, Optometrist, Little Rock
Brian Hughes, Gastroenterologist, Little Rock
Ron Hardin, Gastroenterologist, Little Rock
Elton Cleveland, Family Practitioner, Little Rock

Source: Family Council Action Committee